Uganda - Regional Aspect

The increasing demand for modern energy services and the high population growth across East Africa is a challenge for development in the region. The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, and the United Republic of Tanzania. Its headquarters are located in Arusha, Tanzania. Energy Efficiency in many sectors of the economy including buildings remain some of the key priorities of the EAC. EAC countries are addressing the problem individually through a range of measures, but more needs to be done – hence the need for a coordinated regional approach. To meet the challenge of attaining the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the EAC has launched a three pillar process:

  • Regional Development Strategy (2006–2010)
  • East African Power Master Plan
  • Regional Strategy on Scaling up Access to Modern Energy Services.

The three pillars are linked by the aim of facilitating a reliable supply of, and improved access to modern energy services. A common energy policy among EAC countries can assist in attracting necessary investment and promote competitiveness in order to provide cost effective energy services. The East African Power Master Plan will ensure reliable supply and access to modern energy sources on a regional basis. For further information visit